National Science Day Celebration



National Science Day

On 28th February 2023
organized by
School of Advanced Sciences(SAS)
in Collaboration with
Innovation, Incubation and Entrepreneurship Cell (IIEC)
VIT-AP University
Andhra Pradesh, India


About National Science Day


Sir C. V. Raman


National Science Day is celebrated to mark the discovery of Raman Effect by Nobel Laureate Physicist Sir C. V. Raman on 28th February 1928. National Science Day is celebrated to spread the message of importance of science and its application among the people and to encourage scientific minded people for new discoveries and inventions for better society. On this occasion, the School of Advanced Sciences in collaboration with Innovation, Incubation and Entrepreneurship Cell, VIT-AP University is organizing various competitions and exhibitions for school (Higher Secondary Level) and college (UG and PG Levels, Science and Engineering) students in hybrid mode.


Event details (Online & Offline)

( Venue request – Events)


  • Inaugural Ceremony: 10:30 AM – 11:30 AM

  • Events: 11:50 AM – 1:00 PM


    • Physical events

      Science Model Exhibition (Theme: Innovation in Science): ( Download Poster) ( Guidelines)

      ❒ 10+2 Group

      ❒ UG-PG Group

      Venue: Incubation Centre(206, Central Block)

      Poster Presentation (Theme: Innovation in Science) ( Download Poster) ( Guidelines) ( Format)

      ❒ 10+2 Group

      ❒ UG-PG Group

      Venue: Incubation Centre(206, Central Block)

      Online events

      Poster Presentation (Theme: Innovation in Science) ( Download Poster) ( Guidelines) ( Format)

      ❒ 10+2 Group

      ❒ UG-PG Group

      Debate Competition ( Download Poster) ( Guidelines)

      ❒ 10+2 Group

      ❒ UG-PG Group

      Online & Offline events

      Treasure Hunt ( Download Poster)

      ❒ For 10+2 students

      Venue: 101 lab, (Central Block)

  • Lunch: 1:00 PM – 2:00 PM

    Venue: Rock Plaza

  • Events: 2:00 PM – 3:30 PM


  • Campus Tour and Tea Break: 3:30 PM – 4:00 PM




Registration Process


Registration Fee Rs. 50/- per participant



School of Advanced Sciences ( SAS )


The School of Advanced Sciences (SAS) is one of the seven Schools of VIT-AP University and it houses the Departments of Mathematics, Physics, and Chemistry. We believe in quality of education and research with ethical and professional standards for better tomorrow. Students are encouraged to question, explore, and research throughout their studies, ranging across the various discipline of sciences. We aspire to be a valuable contributor towards the nation’s growth and development by producing highly skilled individuals and by engaging them in cutting-edge research.


Programs Offered:


  • ★ B.Sc. – M.Sc. Data Science Dual Degree (with exit option B.Sc. Data Science) [In collaboration with QpiAI, India Pvt. Ltd.]
  • ★ M.Sc. Data Science [In collaboration with QpiAI, India Pvt. Ltd.]
  • ★ M.Sc. Chemistry [In collaboration with MKCI Pvt. Ltd.]
  • ★ M.Sc. Physics [In collaboration with NoPo Nanotechnologies, India]
  • ★ Ph.D. in Mathematics, Statistics, Data Science, Physics, Chemistry


  • ✥ Total Number of M. Sc. Students Placed: 7 (Dream offers)
  • ✥ Students have secured internships in reputed academic and industrial organizations such as IIT, ISI, NIT, IICT, JNCASR, Zifo, Aurobindo Pharma, Cipla, Mitsui Kinzoku Components India Pvt. Ltd., Tina life Science (through RSC), Cresen Solutions, LatentView Analytics, etc.
  • ✥ Collaborations with various reputed academic, research institutes and industries globally.
  • ✥ Three external funded projects by DST, India (Total more than Rs. 70 lakhs)
  • ✥ More than 50 projects funded by the university to the SAS faculties and students
  • ✥ 14 patents and 194 research publications by faculty and students of SAS
  • ✥ Areas of Innovation and Research
    • ❖ Pure Mathematics
      ❖ Applied Mathematics
      ❖ Statistics
      ❖ Data Science
      ❖ Nano-materials
      ❖ Optical Communications
      ❖ Bio-physics
      ❖ Quantum Physics
      ❖ Organic Chemistry
      ❖ Environmental Chemistry
      ❖ Inorganic Chemistry
      ❖ Physical Chemistry
  •  ✥ Research Fellowship:
    • VIT Fellowship GATE Qualified (Above 60% in PG) Others
      First Year Rs. 31,000/Month Rs. 25,000/Month
      Second and Third Year Rs. 35,000/Month Rs. 31,000/Month


      • ❒ Raman Research Award up to 1 lakh for publications exclusively for research scholars
      • ❒ Contingency amount of Rs. 10,000 per year for all Scholars
      • ❒ Open Access research publication support for Q1 and Q2 Journals
      • ❒ Financial Support for attending conferences/workshop/training etc.
      • ❒ The school has more than 100 faculties, all with Ph. D.s and Postdocs from top-tier global


Chief Patrons

Dr. G. Viswanathan
Founder & Chancellor, VIT


Co-Chief Patrons


Shri. Sankar Viswanathan
Vice President, VIT
Dr. Sekar Viswanathan
Vice President, VIT
Shri. G.V. Selvam
Vice President, VIT





Dr. S.V. Kota Reddy
Vice Chancellor, VIT-AP University
Dr. Jagadish Chandra Mudiganti
Registrar, VIT-AP University



Dr. Santanu Mandal

Dr. Ameet Chavan

Dr. Roopas Kiran
(Overall Coordinator)



Advisory Committee


Prof. VRK Murthy

Prof. S. Srinivas

Prof. Madhusudhana Rao N


School/College/University reach-out Committee


Dr. R Chalasani (Coordinator)

Dr. Nandam Ashok (Co-Coordinator)

Dr. Khadheer Pasha Sk

Dr. Ramesh Prasad Panda

Dr. Nagarjuna Neella

Dr. Pratheep

Dr. Prabhakaran Thandapani

Dr. Manmadha Rao Banki

Dr. Soumyakanta Prusty

Dr. V Ramakrishna Reddy

Dr. Kottala Panduranga

Dr. Sudharshan Vadnala

Dr. Ravi Kumar Davala

Dr. V Nagarjuna

Dr. Perumandla Karunakar

Dr. Sachil Sharma

Dr.Kamalesh kumar

Dr.Faizan Danish

Dr. Pratik Premadarshi Ray

Dr. M Venkata Rajanikanth

Dr.Phani Kumar M

Dr. Naga Prasad Puvvada


Collaboration with Associations/Industries & Industry Conclave & Funding


Dr. Ramakanth Illa (Coordinator)

Dr. Nagaprasad Puvvada (Joint coordinator)

Dr. Sudha Ellison (Joint Coordinator), Librarian

Dr. Senthil

Dr. Paramasivam R

Dr. Rajarshi Sarkar

Dr. Sandhya Sadanandan

Dr. Sabeel M Basheer

Dr. D Rama Rao

Dr. Siva Kumar Reddy

Dr. V Rajanikanth

Dr. T Ramana



Registration Committee


Dr. Tanuj Kumar (Coordinator)
Dr. Chandan Kumar Thakur
Dr. Rajashekar Naraveni
Dr. Kiran Kumar Patra
Dr. Avadhesh Kumar




Dr. Debajit Goswami (Event Chair)
Dr.Anil Negi


Science exhibition, Poster presentation, Online events, Laboratory tour


Dr. Virendra Kumar Verma (Coordinator)

Dr. Roopas Kiran S

Dr. Dripta De Joarder

Dr. Debakanta Tripathy

Dr. Manoj Kumar Mishra

Dr. Triveni Rajashekhar Mandlimath

Dr. Bibhab Bandhu Majumdar

Dr. Sudagar Jothi

Dr. Tufan Ghosh

Dr. Moru Satyanarayana

Dr. Ganesh Kotagiri

Dr. Anubendu Adhikary

Dr. Kingshuk Sarkar


Data Science Event


Dr. Yada Nandukumar (Coordinator)

Dr. Venkatrajam Marka (Maths Club event)

Dr. Sukanta Nayak (Sketch Your Thought)

Dr. Manimaran (Treasure Hunt)

Dr. Francis P


Brochure Design and Publicity


Dr. Lakshmi Sowjanya Pali (Coordinator)


Dr. Aswathi R K

Dr. Shah Parth Mukeshbhai

Dr. Lisna

Dr. Archana Tiwari

Dr. Parbati Sahoo

Mr. Ravi Thota

Mr. Narakatla Muralikrishna

Mr. Ananda Kumar Sabbithi


Finance & Purchase Committee


Dr. Nikunja Bihari Barik (Coordinator)

Dr. V Raja

Mr. Sai Kiran (CFO)

Mr. A Sekhar

Mr. Chandra Sekhar (Purchase Officer)


Transport Team


Mrs. Haritha P (Hr Sr Manager)
Mrs. Manaswini
Mrs. Keerthi


Food Committee


Dr. Roopas Kiran
Dr.Davala Ravi Kumar
Dr. Prashanth Maroju
Mrs. Shahida Bhanu
Mr. Ravi Kiran


IT Team


Mr. Siva Kumar Devisetty
Mr.Veera Babu


Venue Preparation & Facility tour


Ms. V. Nagamani

Mr. Dasi Sateesh Babu

Mr. Gottam Ashok Chakravarthi

Mr. Ullangula Srinivasa Rao

Mr. G. Nirmal Babu